My No-Buy Year Series 2024: The Prep

Hello and welcome, or welcome back, to my little blog! I wanted to share my experience doing a No-Buy Year for the first time in my life, so keep reading if you’re interested in learning more.

If “No-buy” is a new term to you, let me explain. The most basic idea is to challenge yourself to not buy anything for the allotted time. It is a challenge defined individually, depending on personal lifestyles, goals, and rules. For most people, it means only buying essentials when needed, and limiting spending on other items. Most people do this challenge to break unhealthy shopping habits, pay down debt, save up, or to enter a more minimalistic lifestyle. There is no “right” or “wrong” way to do a NBY, because everyone’s individual needs are different.

As for me, I chose to do the NBY because I wanted to put more money towards a house than stuff. I want to learn to appreciate what I have already, and stop shopping so often. In order to successfully complete this challenge by next December, I had to do some prep work. I’ve done low-buy challenges for a month at a time before, but this was about to become much more drastic. I needed strict rules for what I could and could not buy, or things I could give myself a pass on. These are some of the things I did to set myself up for a great year.

Do the Digging

The best way to prep yourself for a NBY is to learn from other people who have done it or are planning to do it. An easy and accessible place to start is Youtube. Tons of people post about their prep, tips, and experiences. One great channel to watch is The Financial Diet. There is also a podcast for their episodes, so it’s very easy to watch or listen. This channel shares all kinds of advice about finances, including interviews with people who have done NBYs.

Ripping Finances Apart

The first thing I did was look at my accounts. I needed to know exactly how much was going in and coming out of my checking and savings accounts. I also needed to know how much I was putting on my credit card each month. I only have one card and recently paid off all my other loans, so determining my debt was quite easy. If you have multiple loans, this process may take you a little longer. Making a spreadsheet and using the formula features will help speed it up!

Photo by Pixabay

Once I figured out how much I was putting on my card, I factored out how much of that was essentials, or things I could not live without (gas, groceries, dog food, etc). From there, I was able to determine how much I could put on my card and determine an estimate of when I could have it completely paid off. Knowing these exact amounts will help me make better decisions when it comes to purchasing next year.

Figuring out my Why

I already mentioned this before, but this is an important step for anyone who wants to do a NBY. Having a clear reason should help remind you why you’re doing this next time you want to spend money on something you don’t need.

You can make yourself an inspirational board, write your goal down on a sticky note, or just keep it on your phone in your notes. Make sure you understand your goal, and keep it close to you to keep motivating you as you go.

Making a List and Checking it Thrice

Lists are so helpful when it comes to achieving a NBY, and as someone who loves making lists, I was really looking forward to this step. It helps to make lists of things you are allowed to buy during the year, things you can buy maybe in moderation, or as needed, or with consideration, and things you cannot buy at all. Below are some examples of things I have added to my lists:

Green Light List (Things I am allowing myself to buy as needed):

  • Gas, groceries, dog food
  • Cycling nutrition during the season
  • Toiletries and skincare (i.e. sunscreen)
  • Herb plants for cooking

Yellow Light List (Things I am limiting myself on buying):

  • Secondhand books for Book Club (only if I can’t get it at the library or through Libby/Audible)
  • Bike shorts (I know I’ll need a new pair this year, but I’m only allowed to get them to replace those that wear out)
  • One journal to replace the one I use as a planner/journal/for to-do lists once I use up the one I have
  • Gifts/experiences for birthdays/holidays for other people
  • Cosplay supplies for projects I already started (only Mizu, Aerrow, Sailor Moon, Initial D)

Red Light List (Things I am not allowed to buy):

  • Clothes, shoes, accessories
  • Bike jerseys
  • Alcohol that does not have a purpose (we can buy it for parties/to take to someone’s house, but we can’t randomly go out and get a case of wine if we’re “running low)
  • Nail polish
  • More than one journal/notebook
  • Cosplay supplies for new projects
  • New Books
  • Home decor/furniture/organization boxes
  • Nerdy stuff – prints, pins, figures
  • House plants

As you can see, my list is very specific and personalized to my needs. Your own list will probably look very different. I think a helpful way to build your list is to check out videos on Youtube of people who are also doing a no-buy challenge and share their lists. It may remind you of things to add that you didn’t add yet.

Finding the People

As I was watching Youtube videos to learn more, and I came across Grace Nevitt’s videos. She is planning a NBY for next year, and has been sharing her progress as she preps for the year. She also set up a Discord server for other people to come together and support each other.

Sharing your experiences with others who are also doing a similar challenge is great motivation! It’s nice to get that reassurance that you’re not failing even if you about something off your Red Light list. Those extra little bursts of positivity can help you work through a decision wether or not to buy something you think you need.

Another thing that could be helpful is telling the people in your household, or some close friends. I told my boyfriend I wanted to do the NBY, and he mentioned that he was planning on doing a low-buy year himself, where he tries not to go overboard with spending. If you share the same mindset, you can help encourage each other. Even if you’re the only person doing a challenge, having support to lean on in person is useful.

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio

The Plan Going Forward

I am going to keep track of my spending over the next few months, and do a quarterly check-in. I’ll add updates on how things are going so far, how successful I’ve been, what I’ve struggled with, and if any rules or goals have changed. If you’d like to keep up with my NBY journey, be sure to subscribe!

Thanks for Reading!

Credit for cover photo

4 thoughts on “My No-Buy Year Series 2024: The Prep

Leave a comment